Sports ministry forms committees for South Asian Games

Jagat Bahadur Bishwakarma

Kathmandu, September 27

The Ministry of Youth and Sports has formed several committees for the 13th South Asian Games (SAG), which is to kick off in Kathmandu on December 1. A meeting chaired Minister for Youth and Sports Jagat Bahadur Biswokarma on Thursday, appointed heads of each committee.

The national team preparation committee includes Rim Bahadur Ranabhat as the coordinator and Mahendra Kumar Rai as the secretary while National Sports Council’s former member-secretary Keshab Kumar Bista and Lawa Bhakta Shrestha have been assigned as coordinator and secretary, respectively for sports spot management.

Similarly, Ganga Bahadur Thapa has been appointed the coordinator for technical works committee, Umesh Lal Shrestha as a coordinator for resource mobilisation committee, Inspector General of Police Sarbendra Nath Khanal as a coordinator for security committee and Tasi Ghale as a coordinator for accommodation committee.

Among other coordinators are Arjun Bahadur KC for transport management committee, Dr Ajaya Shumsher Rana for health committee, Shiva Koirala for publicity committee, Armed Police Force IGP Shailendra Khanal for function management committee, Binod Shrestha for volunteer mobilisation committee, Ana Prasad Neupane for monitoring and evaluation committee and Amar Singh Shah for guest welcome and hospitality committee.

Also, the meeting has formed a five-member local management facilitation committee headed by Gandaki State Minister for Social Development Naradevi Pun for Pokhara – another venue for the games.